skip navigation

Battle in the Boro 2019 (part 4)

By Bob Corwin, 07/19/19, 6:45AM PDT


Nebraska Lasers National Gold, winners of the 2023 Seattle Slew Division of 2019 Battle in the Boro (PC: Bob Corwin)

Nebraska Lasers National Gold cuts through to Seattle Slew winners’ circle

By Bob Corwin

In part 1 of our report on the 2019 Battle in the Boro, the Justify (rising seniors or younger) Division was featured. In part 2, the American Pharoah (rising juniors or younger) Division was reviewed.

In part 3, the Affirmed (rising sophomores or younger)
Division received our attention. In part 4 (final segment), the Seattle Slew (rising freshmen or younger) Division will be discussed.

We are in horse country 

This year all divisions in the Battle in the Boro were named after Triple Crown winning horses. For those of you unfamiliar, the task entails the rare feat of winning the three premier races (Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes) for three-year-old horse. In our four reports, the top division in each age group is discussed.

Picking up the action in the final...

2023 Seattle Slew: Nebraska Lasers National Gold (Lincoln, Nebraska) 44-38 OK Swish Blue (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)

This contest was more about defense than offense. Swish Blue appeared to be a team that did not mind playing from behind as the opened down 16-5. As has been the case previously in this tournament, it came back this time by hitting some shots and playing better defense to finish the first half up 29-23.

The key to the second half Nebraska comeback was an approximate 10-minute (16-minute halves) Oklahoma scoreless drought which lasted until the 6:05 left in the game with the score tied at 29. Nebraska edged ahead 34-31 at the 4:32 mark and used delaying tactics to nurse the lead home. Division MVP Aniya Seymore made four key foul shots down the stretch for Nebraska Lasers National Gold finishing with a game high 15 points. Oklahoma Swish Blue was led by all-tournament selectee Elleni Papahronis with 12 points.

Special thanks to Harry Elifson, who served on the all-tournament selections committee concentrating on the Seattle Slew Division. 

Players below are listed alphabetically with height, position, graduation year and club team with home town in parenthesis.  The criteria for selection was performance at the event in conjunction with success of the team.  Congratulations to all selected!

Aniya Seymore (#20) and Adison Markowski of Nebraska Lasers National Gold (PC: Bob Corwin)

2019 Battle in the Boro

2023 - Seattle Slew

All-Tournament Team

Emery Baragona, 5-7, point guard, 2023, TN Rush 8 th Ferrell (Crossville, Tenneessee)

Camryn Berry, 5-8, shooting guard, 2023, FBC Bouncenation Jeremy (McDonough, Georgia)

Nevaeh Farmer, 5-5, point guard, 2023, NC Lady Ballers (Charlotte, North Carolina)

Macey Fegan, 5-9, point guard, 2023, Michigan Mystics Black (Bentley, Michigan)

Jamiah Gregory, 5-8, shooting guard, 2023, Team Nard Celtics Henderson (Talking Rock, Georgia)

Rachel Griffin, 6-2, small forward, 2024, Team Thad Walker (Oakland, Tennessee)

Crystal Henderson, 5-4, guard, 2023, Team Nard Celtics Henderson (Woodstock, Georgia)

Skylar Jones, 5-10, small forward, 2023, Mac Irvin Fire 14U Thompson (Chicago, Illinois)

Adison Markowski, 5-8, shooting guard, 2023, Nebraska Lasers National Gold (Lincoln, Nebraska)

Margo Mattes, 5-10, shooting guard, 2023, Ohio Elite (Mason, Ohio)

Abigail McFarland, 5-7, shooting guard, 2023, TN Team Pride Gold (Murfreesboro, Tennessee)

Brooklynn Miltenberger, 5-6, shooting guard, 2023, Dayton Lady Hoopstars Johnson (Middletown, Ohio)

Elleni Papahronis, 5-10, small forward, 2023, OK Swish Blue (Edmond, Oklahoma)

Niya Price, 5-11, forward, 2024, West Coast Premier Mo Billings (Quartz Hill, California)

Jordyn Rollins, 6-0, power forward, 2023, OK Swish Blue (Yukon, Oklahoma)

Aniya Seymore, 5-6, point guard, 2023, Nebraska Lasers National Gold (Lincoln, Nebraska) MVP

La’Niya Simes, 5-10, small forward, 2023, Winston-Salem Stealers Grant 14U (Winston-Salem, North Carolina)

Kyah Smith, 5-7, point guard, 2023, Cap City Ballerz Wills (Richmond, Virginia) 

Sanaa Tripp, 5-3, point guard, 2024, Essence Extreme 2024 (Covington, Georgia)

Kaylah Turner, 5-5, point guard, 2023, MHD Elite Huskies (Orange Park, Florida)

Margo Mattes of Ohio Elite (PC: Harry Elifson)

Elleni Papahronis (#4) and Jordyn Rollins of OK Swish Blue (PC: Bob Corwin)